top of page

An SGA for All


Student Government Association (SGA) should be a representation of all students. It is an organization where every undergraduate student should feel they have the right to step into and let their voice be heard. SGA should not be intimidating to go speak to, and should also be fully transparent in every dealing they make whether it be with legislators, administrators, community partners, or anyone else with a stake in UT. SGA must be the voice for all students. Throughout my time here at UT I have heard many and also felt at times that SGA is only a representation of a few select students on campus, not all students feel that their voices are actively heard or listened to while they are here. While I no longer feel this way, as leadership in SGA my past two years here as a student have strived to create a more inclusive and connected SGA to the student body. While I believe this is true, there are always ways to better connect and increase student connectivity to SGA. As SGA President I will strive to create one cohesive SGA that effectively impacts UT and creates an impactful student body voice.

To create this SGA I personally plan to be a visible and active President, not just in SGA but the organizations I will still be a part of, and I will continue to make it a priority to support as many organizational events on campus as I possibly can, like I do now. I also plan to continue to speak to student organizations on campus, not just during campaign season, but also while I am president and before this semester lets out. A campus climate is always changing and it is important to me that I continue to have a strong pulse on what issues my peers would like to see changed and how I as a President can effectively make your collegiate experience better through SGA. Another way I would continue to make sure that every student's voice is heard throughout my term as President is by increasing the co-sponsoring of events SGA does with other organizations, whether that be SGA as a whole, one of the Student Service's committees, or Senate. This campus is full of amazing people and student organizations, and as SGA it is imperative that we are connected and collaborating with as many organizations as possible on campus to show that SGA is truly here for all students and that we are actively representing the student voice the way students want to be represented.

As SGA President I want to make sure all voices of the student body are represented and heard. It is imperative to me as a candidate for SGA President, and that as SGA as a whole we are connected and collaborating with other campus organizations, and fostering genuine relationships with each organization on campus we collaborate with. SGA should be the voice for all students, SGA must effectively impact UT and create an impactful student body voice in every segment of UT decisions.

bottom of page